Report on Israeli Settlement in the Occupied Territories Vol 12 #5


Since the national unity government  headed by Prime Minister Ariel Sharon was formed in March 2001,  more than 50 outposts have been established, according to Peace  Now. The government acknowledged in July 2002 that 69 outposts  had been established since 1996, but put the number during Sharon’s  tenure at 34. A June 2002 IDF report determined that 61 outposts  were “illegal,” that is, they were established in contravention  of Israeli statutes regulating planning and construction. The  violation of international prohibitions concerning settlement  in occupied territory–which makes all Israeli settlement illegal  under international law–is not a constraint upon Israeli officials,  and certainly not a concern for settlers.